12th Annual UWT Oscars: A Night To Remember


On Friday, May 29, 2015, a group of students, family, staff, and faculty attended the 12th annual Oscars to recognize the outstanding work of student leaders throughout the 2014-2015 academic year. The Oscars were hosted by the Registered Student Organization whose mission is to “support students by providing opportunities for them to grow as leaders.”

RSO provided free food to enjoy during the ceremony and a photo booth to commemorate the event. The evening began with a slideshow showcasing a small sample of the numerous events that took place on campus this year. Then, MC Patrick Stiver introduced Dean of Student Engagement, Ed Mirecki to welcome students, family, and friends. Mirecki encouraged all attendees to join in “celebrating all the great work over the past year.”

The awards ceremony included awards by campus organizations like SAB, ASUWT, The Ledger, and Tahoma West. In addition, student nominations were considered for the student’s choice awards and several others.

The student’s choice categories included the awards for Outstanding Staff, Outstanding Faculty, Outstanding Student Leader, and Campus Impact. The Outstanding Staff award was presented to the entire staff of the Nursing and Healthcare Leadership Program. Several staff members accepted the award and received a loud round of applause.

The Outstanding Faculty award was presented to Christine Stevens, RN, Ph.D. who is an associate professor in Nursing and Healthcare Leadership. Her scholarly interests include adolescent health, homeless healthcare, and food insecurity among adolescent populations. Stevens was also the recipient of the Distinguished Teaching Award in 2012.

The Black Student Union won the award for Campus Impact. The Black Student Union aims “to offer a sense of community and unity for Black students on campus by providing an open and positive forum for students to express their views concerning current events, academics, culture, and student life.” In addition, the Black Student Union has been a visible and vocal presence on campus in support of the nationwide Black Lives Matter movement.

Dean of Student Engagement, Ed Mirecki also presented a new award at this year’s Oscars. Mirecki presented the Dean’s Leadership Award to several students who exhibited an ongoing commitment to leadership in student organizations on the UW Tacoma campus. Awardees received a medal from the Dean and included The Ledger editor-in-chief, Eva Revear and Tahoma West editor-in-chief, Nicole McCarthy.

The final award of the night went to Top Dawg, Kathy Nguyen. Congratulations to Kathy Nguyen and all the award winners and nominees of the 2015 Oscars.


Photos By Allison Pham

Photos By Allison Pham


Pin It